Matthew Sweet – Girlfriend

ARTIST: Matthew Sweet Girlfriendmatthewsweet
TITLE: Girlfriend
YEAR RELEASED: 1991
CHART ACTION: #100, #1 Heatseekers
SINGLES: Divine Intervention (#23 Modern Rock), Girlfriend (#10 Mainstream Rock, #4 Modern Rock), I’ve Been Waiting (Video)
OTHER SONGS YOU MAY KNOW: Maybe some tracks were in soundtracks.
LINEUP: Matthew Sweet, Lloyd Cole, Robert Quine, Richard Lloyd, Ivan Julian, Greg Leisz, Fred Maher, Rick Menck (not on each track…)
WHAT’S IT ALL ABOUT: Album of the decade? Maybe, to my ears. It’s an outstanding collection of songs about love, loss and F-U to bad relationships.

SOME WORDS, PHRASES AND CLAUSES ABOUT THIS RECORD: Wow. Wow. Wow. The first time I heard this album I almost had a moment. Solid from 1-15, Sweet and his crack backing band (he assembled the right people for each song) rip through songs ranging from giddiness of new love (“I’ve Been Waiting”) to one of the biggest F-U to a former partner (“I Thought I Knew You”).

The harmonies (all by Sweet) are magical. The playing is great. If I had one complaint, it’s that there are a couple of cuts that don’t QUITE measure up to the rest. If he trimmed those, it would have been perfect. However, I think the sequencing may have been off if he did. It’s a pretty unified tale he’s telling.

It’s a go-to album for me for many moods. Even in the sad, or angry songs, there’s a joy and emotion. It’s like Sweet was exorcizing some demons, and it felt great.

NOTES & MINUTIAE: The cover model is Tuesday Weld. Va-voom!

IS THERE A DELUXE VERSION: Yes, with demos and some live cuts. As always, you can take or leave them, but hearing Sweet live is great.

GRADE: A+: I wavered between A and A+, because of the two cuts I don’t like as much. But, I then thought about how the sequencing would be off, so screw it, A+. Get this one.

Leave a Reply

