Wavves – Wavvves

ARTIST: Wavves 220px-Wavvvescover
TITLE: Wavvves
YEAR RELEASED: 2009
CHART ACTION: None
SINGLES: Weed Demon, So Bored, California Goths, To The Dregs, No Hope Kids
OTHER SONGS YOU MAY KNOW: Oh, no
LINEUP: Nathan Williams, Ryan Ulsh
WHAT’S IT ALL ABOUT: Noisy lo-fi noise that has songs lurking under the noise. There’s noise.

SOME WORDS, PHRASES AND CLAUSES ABOUT THIS RECORD: I tried again; I really did. And I did notice some actual melodies and such underneath the white noise generator. But I guess I should turn in my 2009 hipster card, because, I…no….I can’t deal.

Williams has a gift of melody; he truly does. In later albums you can HEAR it. You can’t here. I don’t want this in the catalog.

NOTES & MINUTIAE: This has three “v’s” as opposed to his debut which had two “v’s”

IS THERE A DELUXE VERSION: Yes, three extra tracks.

GRADE: C-: I am exiling this (and decided to exile their first) because I can’t deal with the distortion of noise..

 

Leave a Reply

